While I have taken yoga classes all over Massachusetts plus Hood River, New Orleans, Sausalito and now I am at the Yoga mother ship called Kripalu in Stockbridge, MA. https://kripalu.org/ …I am not really a yoga gal.

Yes, I own a mat. All right. The truth. I own 2 because I thought I had lost one and before it showed up in the back of a closet I bought another for 5 bucks at TJ Maxx. An impromptu purchase in the check out line. You know those bins they have as you make your way to the check out person? Sometimes they have chocolate. It was either the yoga mat or the chocolate. The mat was cheaper and it even has a Lau Tzu quote embedded, “To know others is to know intelligence, to know yourself is wisdom”. I know myself; I should have bought the chocolate.

Cause, I am not really a yoga gal.

But I have had a yoga crush. I don’t really know if that is a thing of not, but it should be. A yoga crush is when you really like your teacher because, for me anyway, when she speaks it is like velvet. Or melted chocolate. Kind of like Enya when I first heard her sing – you know, that voice that seems to be your own voice singing from your deepest soul – if you had a really good voice. I guess it is called spirituality. But that sounds pretty flaky and already I am talking about yoga, quoting Lau Tzu from my yoga mat, and yoga crushes, so I can’t add spirituality into the mix. Let’s just say you know you have a yoga crush when the teacher goes around the class making individual adjustments by putting her hands on students (with their approval of course) and helps them lengthen their pose or ensures their hips are squared and all you are thinking is, “Me me me. Adjust me.”

But I am not really a yoga gal.

Yes, I own yoga pants. And yes, I put them on just about every morning especially in the summer thinking I will get to the yoga studio, or the gym or maybe just walk the dog. If I go to the office I throw a skirt on over the pants and call it professional work wear.

But still, I am not really a yoga gal.

But here we are. My husband (what a sport! Round of applause for Evan!) and I are at Kripalu for two nights. Built as a Jesuit Monastery to house 500 monks in 1957, they clearly forgot to check the supply/demand curve for Catholic monks and they overbuilt by about 450 rooms. The Monastery was dormant for 13 years until it was bought by a religious order/yoga society headed up by Guru Amrit Desai. As a religious yoga residential facility Desai followers practiced yoga but after about 11 years, 100 or so members (my guess is mostly women….) got together with a class action suit as Desai, who preached abstinence, didn’t follow his own teachings. https://kripalu.org/about/kripalu/our-history

Anyway, Kripalu remade themselves and is now a totally legit nonprofit that is a overnight yoga workshop and spirituality destination retreat center set on 150 + acres in the Berkshires. It is beautiful. They offer 10+ yoga classes a day. Meditation, intentionality, hiking, kayaking, farm to cafeteria table delicious food, gift shop, the whole thing.

But I am not really a yoga gal. And now I really know it.

One class a week. Yes. Sure. Love it. I look forward to it. Maybe even two times a week. But 3 times a day? Surrounded by yoga pants everywhere? Silent breakfasts? No alcohol? No cell phones? Being in your own head dealing with mind chatter? Too much mind chatter. Yoga teachers suggest you acknowledge the thoughts that fly through your head. Noting them. Putting them on small clouds. Sending them away. Listen to your breath. Focus on your Drishti. (*).

Got it. I understand. But I am done. So I ran away.

I am now in the Lenox Library with an iced coffee.

I left Evan at Kripalu.

He has a Yoga Crush who is teaching at noon and again at 2pm.

I am channeling my Lau Tzu quote. I know myself. I am not really a yoga gal.

But Evan?

I pick him up at 4. Stay tuned.

 

(*) A focused gaze is a means for developing concentration and balance. It also relates to the 5th limb of yoga, pratyahara, regarding sense withdrawal as well as the 6th limb dharana relating to concentration.

http://www.yogaglossary.com/p/indexd.php